Pursue > Actuarial System

There are actuarial bodies in the world (English speaking) that offer actuarial exams and confer actuary designations to members who have completed all education requirements

Depending on jurisdiction of the profession, the titles of the actuaries vary as follows:

  • Fellow of the Society of Actuaries (FSA) from SOA
  • Fellow of the Casualty Actuaries Society (FCAS) from CAS
  • Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (FCIA) from CIA
  • Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries (FIA) from IoA
  • Fellow of the Faculty of Actuaries (FFA) from FoA
  • Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia (FIAA) from IAA

Most actuarial bodies also offer a designation called Associate, such as ASA from SOA, ACAS from CAS to those who have completed the fundamental actuarial education, i.e. half-way in becoming an FSA or FCAS.

An Actuary needs to get the designation from the country where he wants to practice, for example, the Chief Actuary had to be an FCIA to be able to sign the financial report in Canada.

Recently, SOA created a new designation CERA standing for Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst in realization of the need for Risk Management talent in this ever-changing business world.


Next : North America